Accrington Cricket Club

Dibber sweeps the board

Saturday October 21st 2006

David and Lionel
Lionel Cooke presents David Ormerod with the mounted ball

David Ormerod swept the board at Accrington's Presentation Night, picking up no fewer than five trophies to crown a successful season on his return to the club where he played as a junior.

David's total of 62 wickets, which earned him the Boardwell Cup, was the best by an Accrington amateur since Alan Worsick took 75 in 1971 and he is the first Accrington bowler since Worsick claimed 59 victims in 1984 to be the league's leading amateur wicket-taker. David also picked up the Chairman's Cup for Player of the Year, the Players Player of the Year, the Heavenly Choir Trophy for Supporters Player of the Year and a special award, the mounted ball with which he took his 900th Lancashire League wicket.

David, Lionel and Matt
Lionel with David Ormerod and Mat Wilson
Former Lancashire League Secretary Lionel Cooke presented the awards. Skipper Matt Wilson picked up the President's Cup for most runs, his 474 equalling his personal best tally set last season and his brother Adam was awarded the Seddon Cup for best batting average. Adam also picked up the County Cup for the second year running, his 72 at Church was was deemed to be the best match winning performance by an amateur. Damian Clarke won the Vice Chairmans Cup for best bowling average. Graeme Sneddon was awarded the Holden Cup for most catches.


Lionel with the Hussains
Lionel with Toc, Zed, Sagawat, Nasser and Waheed Hussain

It was also a good night for the Hussains. Nasser Hussain won the Bruce Francis Cup for hitting most runs in the seconds, his total of 618 runs has only been bettered by Geoff Hayhurst's record 701. Nasser also picked up the Duncan Warburton Trophy for best performance, his 125 at Todmorden. Sagawat Hussain picked up the cup for best batting average in the seconds and Waheed Hussain was named 'Player of the Year.' Len Dewhurst had most wickets and Matt Donnelly qualified for the best bowling average


Lionel with Matt and Si
Lionel with Matt Schofield and Simon Hanson

The Jack Douthwaite Trophy for the Under 19 Player of the Year in the first team went to Simon Hanson who showed tremendous promise in his first season in the senior side and Simon also picked up the Edwin Airey Trophy for Junior Player of the Year.

Third team skipper Zed Hussain won the Alven Burrows Cup for scoring most runs and Waqas Ahmed won the Wilkinson Cup for best batting average. Zafar Aslam won the Peter Westwell Cup for best bowling average and Zed Hussain picked up the Wilkinson Cup for best bowling average. Matthew Schofield won the Ashwell Trophy for Most Improved Player and Toc Hussain picked up the Thompson and Partners Trophy for 3rd XI Player of the Year.

Lionel and James
Lionel with wicketkeeper James Ormerod

Wicketkeeper James Ormerod, who bagged 29 victims which was a remarkable achievement in his first season in senior cricket and with little previous experience with the gloves, won the Leslie Martin Trophy for Wickekeeper of the Year.

The Michael Rigby Award for Supporter of the year went to Bert Ormerod for his work around the ground this year.


The Champagne Men
The Champagne Men Mick Horsfield and Ian Wilson
First Team Manager Ian Wilson gave a review of the season and then revealed his Champagne Moment for the season. Ian selected Mick Horsfield's innings of 43 against Church and duly presented the winner with his prize.


This year the Website Player of the Year Award was not presented to a player. Nigel Stockley explained: "Since going on line in 2002 the website has featured some excellent support from contributors such as Richard Burrows (during his World Tour), Saf Ali, Mick and Matthew Donnelly, Andrew Greenwood and Damian Clarke from the Junior Section. Of course there is also the infamous and ground breaking Zed's Diary, but this year I asked our Groundsman Ian McCrae if he would consider writing a Ground Diary, logging his work on the ground during the summer.

"Happily Ian agreed to do this and what we finished up with far exceded my expectations. Not only did we learn of the technicalities of maintaining the field, but we also had a running commentary on the behind the scenes work that goes on at the club.

"All summer we followed the adventures of Bert and his brilliant white paint, heard about the day the Chairman spent rolling the wrong wicket, learnt what size spuds make the best potato pies, what you do when the 'big end' goes on the mower, and we also found out how many pairs of shorts that a groundsman goes through in a season. For an outstanding contribution to the website the 2006 award goes to Ian McCrae. "

Full list of awards:

1st XI Batting Bowling Avs
President's Cup for Most runs Matt Wilson
Chairman's Cup for Player of the Year David Ormerod
Vice Chairman's Cup for best bowling average Damian Clarke
Seddon Cup for best batting average Adam Wilson
Boardwell Cup for most wickets David Ormerod
County Cup for outstanding winning match performance Adam Wilson v Church
Holden Cup for most catches Gareme Sneddon
Players player of the year David Ormerod
Heavenly Choir Shield for supporters Player of the Year David Ormerod
Jack Douthwaite Trophy for best overall performance from a player under 19 in the first team Simon Hanson
2nd XI 2nd XI Averages
Bruce Francis Cup for most runs Nasser Hussain
Best batting average Sagawat Hussain
Bruce Francis Cup for most wickets Len Dewhurst
Best bowling average Matthew Donnelly
Player of the year Waheed Hussain
Duncan Warburton Trophy for best performance Nasser Hussain 125 v Todmorden
3rd XI 3rd XI Averages
Alven Burrows Cup for most runs Zed Hussain
J.R. Wilkinson Cup for best batting average Waqas Ahmed
Peter Westwell Cup for most wickets Zafar Aslam
J.R. Wilkinson Cup for best bowling average Zed Hussain
Ashwell Trophy for most improved player Matthew Schofield
Thompson and Partners Trophy for player of the year Toc Hussain
General awards  
Michael Rigby Trophy for services to the club Bert Ormerod
Edwin Airey Memorial Trophy for Junior player of the year Simon Hanson
Leslie and Margaret Martin Trophy for Club wicketkeeper of the year James Ormerod website Player of the Year Award Ian McCrae
Special Award for taking his 900th Lancashire League wicket David Ormerod
Ian Wilson's Champagne moment Mick Horsfield 43 v Church
Back to top  

The Club