Accrington Cricket Club

Taz picks up League Award

Friday November 4th

Alan and Taz
Accrington legend Alan Worsick congratulates Tariq Hussain on becoming the club's latest LET holder

Tariq Hussain picked up the LET Bowling Tankard at tonights Lancashire League Dinner.

Tariq became the first Accrington player to pick up the award since David Lloyd won the award for taking 7-28 against Ramsbottom in 1987.

Tariq's 8-44 against Lowerhouse on May 7th just edged out Lowerhouse's Jonny Russell, who took 8-49 against Colne in June. Tariq also took 8-98 against Church on June 5th.

Accrington legend Alan Worsick, who was the first Accrington player to win the award in 1970, was on hand to congratulate Tariq at the Dinner at Mytton Fold.

Both the LET batting and bowling awards were won at Thorneyholme Road. Rishton's Peter Sleep hit a season's high of 151 not out against Accrington on May 15th, 1 more than Colne's Paul Wilson scored against Rishton in April.

Former Club Secretary Duncan Warburton was named best umpire. Duncan, who will take over as Lancashire League Secretary when Lionel Cooke retires in February, picked up the The Harry Saul Trophy from Lancashire League President Jack Houldsworth.

The Club