Accrington Cricket Club

Zed's our man

Saturday October 23rd 2004

Suzanne with Zed
LET journalist Suzanne Geldard, a former club announcer, presents Zed Afzal with the website Player of the Year Award

Zahir Afzal picked up a host of awards for an outstanding all round season, including the prestigious Player of the Year Award at the club's Annual Presentation Night. Local journalist Suzanne Geldard dashed back from over the Pennines from Accrington Stanley's match at Scarborough to hand out the awards to a packed clubhouse.

Zed picked up a total of five awards - the Chairman's Cup, the County Cup for the best match winning performance at Todmorden which was also the fastest fifty, the Players Player of the Year Award in addition to the website award. Mohsin Ahmed won the first team batting prizes and Damian Clarke won the Holden Cup for most catches.

Jimmy Hayhurst won the Heavenly Choir Shield for the Supporters Player of the Year and the Boardwell Cup for taking most wickets.

Suzanne with Crabbers
Stuart Crabtree receives the Under 17s Cup

Under 17s captain Stuart Crabtree was presented with the new Division 2 Cup which the team shared jointly with Rawtenstall and all the players picked up medals.

The seconds had a difficult season winning only two matches. Sajed Sadiq was joint leading run scorer with 403 runs. Sagawat Hussain picked up the award for best batting average, Waheed Hussain took most wickets and Imran Hussain was on hand to pick up the prize for best bowling average.

Ian Johnson picked up the 3rd XI Player of the Year trophy and he also won the prize for most runs. Dave Hargreaves was presented with the trophy for best batting average and Sajjad Sadiq had the best bowling average. Matthew Donnelly won the Ashwell Trophy for 'Most Improved Player' and he also picked up the award for most wickets.

Waqas Ahmed won the Under 17s 'Player of the Year' and Sagawat Hussain won the 'Edwin Airey Trophy' for the 'Junior player of the Year'.

Suzanne meets The Fixer
And now it's the turn of Mick' The Fixer'

Cricket Chairman Rod Kenyon announced that 'The Michael Rigby Trophy' would be awarded to Mick 'The Fixer' Donnelly for 'all his behind the scenes work such as managing teams, transporting players, umpiring and fixing (up) matches.'

And finally a new award was announced - the Gerry Braithwaite Junior Clubman of the Year which was won by James Ormerod.
Full list of awards

1st XI 1st XI Averages
President's Cup for Most runs Mohsin Ahmed (464)
Chairman's Cup for Player of the Year Zahir Afzal
Vice Chairman's Cup for best bowling average Graeme Sneddon (16.6)
Seddon Cup for best batting average Mohsin Ahmed (22.1)
Boardwell Cup for most wickets Jimmy Hayhurst (28)
County Cup for outstanding winning match performance Zahir Afzal 52 at Todmorden
Holden Cup for most catches Damian Clarke (14)
Players player of the year Zahir Afzal
Heavenly Choir Shield for supporters Player of the Year Jimmy Hayhurst
Dewhurst Trophy for fastest 50 Zahir Afzal
Jack Douthwaite Trophy for best overall performance from a player under 19 in the first team Graeme Sneddon 175 runs and 20 wickets
2nd XI 2nd XI Averages
Bruce Francis Cup for most runs Sajed Sadiq (403)
Best batting average Sagawat Hussain (25.5)
Bruce Francis Cup for most wickets Waheed Hussain (27)
Best bowling average Imran Hussain (22.3)
3rd XI 3rd XI Averages
Alven Burrows Cup for most runs Ian Johnson (251)
J.R. Wilkinson Cup for best batting average Dave Hargreaves (19.4)
Peter Westwell Cup for most wickets Matthew Donnelly (16)
J.R. Wilkinson Cup for best bowling average Sajjad Sadiq (11.8)
Ashwell Trophy for most improved player Matthew Donnelly
Thompson and Partners Trophy for player of the year Ian Johnson
Under 17 Under 17s Averages
Most runs Graeme Sneddon (205)
Best batting average Sagawat Hussain (48.5)
Most wickets Simon Hanson (9)
Best bowling average Matthew Donnelly (17.8)
Player of the year Waqas Ahmed
General awards  
Michael Rigby Trophy for services to the club Michael Donnelly
Edwin Airey Memorial Trophy for Junior player of the year Sagawat Hussain
Leslie and Margaret Martin Trophy for Club wicketkeeper of the year Adam Barnes website Player of the Year Award Zahir Afzal
Gerry Braithwaite's Junior Clubman of the Year James Ormerod
Back to top  

The Club