Accrington Cricket Club

Borough Cricket Team to rise from the Ashes

Tuesday May 11th 2004
The Hyndburn Cricket Development Group in partnership with Sport & Community Development at Hyndburn Leisure Services is proud to announce that the Hyndburn Borough Cricket Squad after some years will soon be playing its first fixtures in the Lancashire Schools Cricket Association competition.

Many top class cricketer's throughout the country have passed through what was more commonly known as the Town Team on their way to glory and it is hoped that Hyndburn can add to this by giving talented youngsters the chance to represent their borough and be identified in the county.

Secretary of the group Lee Boyer added "This is a very special landmark in the progress of Cricket in the borough, and is a testament to the excellent work our clubs in Hyndburn do. The response has been fantastic for nominations and the squads are now ready to showcase their talents to the rest of the county".

The squads are at Under 13 and Under 15 level and follow a successful pilot where Hyndburn played Blackburn with Darwen last year. The Group though is in need of support and sponsorship to assist in travel and kit needs for the squads, so if you can help please contact Lee on 01254 380286.

The Under 13's make their bow first in the LCSA merit League at home to Rossendale on Wednesday May 27th before travelling to Bury in the second round of the LSCA Hacking Cup in June. The Under 15's start with a baptism of fire in the first round of the LSCA Ainsworth Trophy at Great Harwood CC Friday 21st May 4.15pm start against Burnley. Under 13's Trials to be held at Church CC on Thursday 20th May 6pm.

The Under 15s team is: Oliver Clare (Oswaldtwistle Immanuel), Joe Tomlinson (Church), Darren Thornton (Edenfield), Liam Brankin (Church), George Walsh (Church), Sagawat Hussain (Accrington), Calvin Westwell (Gt Harwood), Andy Irwin (Baxenden), Dominic Bulcock (Edenfield), Matthew Taylor (Enfield), Waqas Ahmed (Accrington), Aqueel Shah (Enfield) Res: Scott Wilkinson (Enfield), David Cronshaw (Baxenden), David Williams (Enfield), Nick Fender (Baxenden), Matt Donnelly (Accrington). Team Managers: Lee Boyer, Russ Cuddihy Any problems with availability please contact 01254 380286. Meet at Gt Harwood 3.30pm.

The Club