Accrington Cricket Club

Chappy presents junior awards

Saturday October 11th 2003

the award winners
Burnley star Richard Chaplow with the four 'Player of the Years' Sagawat Hussain, Philip Green, Ashley Whittaker and Matthew Schofield

Burnley's new football star Richard Chaplow was the special guest at Accrington Cricket Club's Junior Presentation Night.

Vote for your club player of the year

The Clarets' new star, himself a former Accrington junior who was a member of the 2nd XI side that won the LET 2nd XI Cup in 2000, handed out the awards to the club's current crop of junior starlets in front of a packed clubhouse on Saturday evening.

Vote for your club player of the year

Acting Junior Chairman Alven Burrows read out a speech from former Chairman Saf Ali, who emigrated to Australia in August before the awards were presented. [Saf's speech]

The club's Senior Awards will be presented by former Lancashire and England star Graham Lloyd on Saturday October 25th when a new prize will be presented for the first time - the club's 'Website Player of the Year.'

Vote for your club player of the year

The full list of awards is:

Under 11s A
Most improved batting: Jake Clarke
Most improved bowling: Sohail Khan
Player of the Year: Matthew Schofield
Under 11s B
Most improved batting: Jordan O'Meara
Most improved bowling: Matthew Longden
Player of the Year: Ashley Whittaker
Under 13s
Most runs: Waqar Khan
Most wickets: Jonathan Hayhurst
Bowling average: Waqar Khan
Batting average: Jonathan Duckett
Player of the Year: Phillip Green
Under 15s
Most runs: Richard Williams
Most wickets: Waqas Ahmed
Bowling average: Andrew Thompson
Batting average: Andrew Greenwood
Player of the Year: Sagawat Hussain

Vote for your club player of the year

The Club